Overflowing with Warmth & Happiness… Did I just Pee My Pants?

Last night we went to see Cirque du Soleil’s Cortero and honestly I think it’s changed something inside of me right then and forever, it was honestly the most inspiring feeling that I’ve had in a while.

char_clowness.jpg

These people have really gone to great lengths, risking injury as well as contributing endless time and effort in the creating of costumes, music, props… They travel away from their families, spend tireless hours practicing and crafting. I know these people are paid without a doubt but there is no monetary amount that would bring that type of dedication out night after night… there was something more. I believe that their hard work and risk is just for a simple smile. It didn’t have to be a full belly laugh or weeping tears… they didn’t need to go that far to get the gratification necessary to be there. That to me is amazing.

I’m not saying the show wasn’t full of emotion, it was a funeral after all and the daring acrobatics kept my palms sweaty and all of us on the edge of our seats. We laughed out load at the funny antics and skits too. These things make the show spectacular of course. What I’m trying to say is that I noticed something different, something I hadn’t really been fortunate to see before, something very simple.

It hit me when the little Clowness was suspended by balloons and allowed to float around the crowd, while the audience pushed her up as she giggled and spun around. It was beautiful and there wasn’t much to it. It made people smile, I felt myself expanding with this joyfulness warmth, like I wet my pants or something, only I didn’t?

So, somehow it is changing the way I think about my own art. That’s how I want to make someone feel… if I can bring a simple smile, a laugh, or that warm “just peed” feeling to another person, it would make it all worth it.

I hadn’t set any sort of year goals as of yet but this will be my guiding light when I do.

2 comments so far

  1. Josue Pereira on

    jeanettevieira.wordpress.com’s done it once more. Incredible read.

  2. Shirley Hoover on

    You’ve done it once again. Amazing article.


Leave a Reply

