Life and Death Saga…. life by Scissors

If you read the “Life and Death of an Idea” posting then you know that I was very unhappy with the state of the Tree of Faith (?) painting. I was over it.

So yesterday, Dennis and I went to see the Dead Sea Scrolls Exhibit and I was inspired, inspired to cut it up into pieces. Fragments. Separation.

I woke up this morning and started cutting the tree out off the canvas. This got some of my aggression for the painting out. I’m more optimistic now. This is good.

cut canvas

I’m going to glue it to several smaller wood panels and re-create it. This time I’m going to leave the background subtle and leave out the arch and grass. It’s better already.

Here is the cut out…

Cut out tree

So, I hope you’re enjoying the process. I think it’s fun analyzing the steps it takes to get to a finished state. We’ll see…

1 comment so far

  1. artmonkey79 on

    looks great. I like the idea. Cutnpaste is allways a mind opener process.


Leave a Reply

